Kings and Princes of Wales

by Ben Johnson

Below is a list of the kings and princes of Wales from Rhodri the Great to Llywelyn ap Gruffydd ap Llywelyn, followed by the English Princes of Wales. After the Conquest of Wales Edward I created his son ‘Prince of Wales’ and since then, the title ‘Prince of Wales’ has been given to the heir apparent to the English and British throne. HRH Prince Charles currently holds the title.

Sovereigns and Princes of Wales 844 – 1283

844-78 Rhodri the Great. King of Gwynedd, the first Welsh ruler to be called ‘Great’ and the first, by virtue of peaceful inheritance and marriage, to rule most of present-day Wales.
878-916 Anarawd
915-50 Hywel Dda (Hywel the Good)
950-79 Iago ab Idwal
979-85 Hywel ab Ieuaf (Hywel the Bad)
985-86 Cadwallon
986-99 Maredudd ab Owain ap Hywel Dda
999-1008 Cynan ap Hywel ab Ieuaf
985-86 Cadwallon
986-99 Maredudd ab Owain ap Hywel Dda
999-1008 Cynan ap Hywel ab Ieuaf
1018-23 Llwelyn ap Seisyll
1023-39 Iago ab Idwal ap Meurig
1039-63 Gruffydd ap Llywelyn ap Seisyll
1063-75 Bleddyn ap Cynfyn
1075-81 Trahaern ap Caradog
1081-1137 Gruffydd ap Cynan ab Iago
1137-70 Owain Gwynedd
1170-94 Dafydd ab Owain Gwynedd
1194-1240 Llywelyn Fawr (Llywelyn the Great)
1240-46 Dafydd ap Llywelyn
1246-82 Llywelyn ap Gruffydd ap Llywelyn
1282-83 Dafydd ap Gruffydd – Following the death of Dafydd and his brother Llywelyn, a year earlier , the four hundred year dominance in Wales by the House of Gwynedd is brought to an end. The last independent Welsh kingdom falls and the English gain control of the country.

Prince of Wales Feathers - Sodacan WKC

The Prince of Wales’ Feathers
(“Ich Dien” = “I serve”)

English Princes of Wales From 1301

1301 Edward (II). The son of Edward I, Edward was was born in Caernarfon Castle in North Wales on 25th April, just a year after his father had conquered the region.
1343 Edward the Black Prince. The eldest son of King Edward III, the Black Prince was an exceptional military leader and fought alongside his father at the Battle of Crécy aged just sixteen.
1376 Richard (II)
1399 Henry of Monmouth (V)
1454 Edward of Westminster
1471 Edward of Westminster (V)
1483 Edward
1489 Arthur Tudor
1504 Henry Tudor (VIII)
1610 Henry Stuart
1616 Charles Stuart (I)
1638 Charles (II)
1688 James Francis Edward (Old Pretender)
1714 George Augustus (II)
1729 Fredrick Lewis
1751 George William Fredrick (III)
1762 George Augustus Fredrick (IV)
1841 Albert Edward (Edward VII)
1901 George (V)
1910 Edward (VII)
1958 Charles Philip Arthur George

Next article